Am I selfish to dream? 

When I think about love I think of commitment, passion and careless affection.

Although, I’m not in love, don’t have a partner, nor my future goal is to be in love, I can without doubt say that love has a huge impact on my life.

Having read so many cheesy romantic stories, I kinda get the hype around love and being loved. Although in my opinion you shouldn’t only plan your life around love or loved ones.

You see, people come and go. So do affections and relationships in many cases. About a week ago I had a small chat with my parents and what we talked about was mainly my plans for the future. What I want to do in the future? Really I have no idea but I’m still working on it. It’s a story for another day.

Without wandering off my rant, as we chatted a little my mum heard my expectations and future plans and literally told me that I was being selfish. My MUM told me I was being SELFISH. Okay…

Inhale, exhale.

That basically means she doesn’t want me to follow my dreams. At least that’s how I see it. Meh. I don’t know. Maybe it’s a matter of personal experience. My mum started working when she was fourteen to help pay the rent for their appartement. That pretty much shows that family is undeniably number one priority for her.

Don’t get me wrong. Family is also very important for me. However, shouldn’t parents want their children to be happy and fulfill their dreams?

Although I kind of understand why mum is so against me doing what I want. She cares. Like mothers do.

I want to reach for the stars. I want to tightly wrap my trembling fingers around that intensely sparkling against the night, star and never let go. And that’s what I plan on doing.

Is it selfish? Yes. So is not wanting someone to claim their star.

In the end, your parents will always be there for you and are going to try and give you anything they have to make a thankful smile brighten your face.

Although when the right time comes, you are bound to find happiness for yourself.

And then, give it to others.

Pic. By: https://flamboyant-clairvoyant.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

